Are You Blooming?

clearance cactus

Two years ago, I bought a Christmas cactus from Lowe’s on the clearance rack for $1. I buy these half-dead, clearance plants because I love being able to save them, bring them back to life from the brink of death.

I brought this little green beauty home, fed it, watered it and took excellent care of it. But it never bloomed for me. Not even a little bud formed. Despite my TLC, I had failed this beautiful plant.

Strolling on the Internet one day, I found an article about Christmas cacti. After reading the article, I realized that way I’d been taking care of my little clearance cactus had been all wrong. I overwatered it in the summer. I kept it too hot in the summer and let it get too much light. I’m a great Spider plant mom, but not so great with the Christmas cactus. Not all plants are created equally!

After six weeks of proper care, my clearance cactus bloomed – beautiful white flowers with a hint of pink.

For many years, I was my little clearance cactus. I was taking what I thought was good care of myself. I was eating what I thought was a “healthy” diet. I was working out a lot. I was doing all of the things Western medicine told me were good. But I wasn’t blooming.

That’s when I found yoga, meditation and Ayurveda – one of the world’s oldest forms of medicine and now the most popular form of holistic healing in the US, thanks to physicians such as Deepak Chopra.

Though Ayurveda, I was able to assess my body type, Dosha, and understand my mind and my body better. I learned how my body and mind work so that I can properly take care of myself. For years, I wished humans came with an instruction manual like my car did. With Ayurveda, I found that there was such a manual.

I’m a Pitta dosha, which explains why I:

  • love food
  • suffer from skin issues such as Rosacea and Acne
  • get incredibly cranky when I’m hungry
  • will never be able to skip meals
  • love spicy food
  • why I’m food obsessed (so many bullets about food – YUM)
  • always have to be right
  • get irritated with the way all of you who are not me drive
  • love Zumba
  • wake up in the middle of the night worrying about work or money

These are all classic Pitta traits. Here I thought I was special.

Through Ayurveda, I’ve been able to establish a better routine for my life, including diet, yoga, exercise, meditation and sleeping patterns. I sleep much better through the night without any kind of sleeping aids. My skin is clear and people even compliment me on how my skin looks. I’ve let go of my need to be right and much of the stress in my life is gone. My need to be right was creating so much tension. I accept that I need to eat three meals a day and plan my schedule to accommodate that. I feel healthier and stronger than I have in years. I am blooming just like my little clearance cactus.

Are you ready to bloom? Are you ready to make changes to your life so you can bloom? If you would like to learn more about Ayurveda, let’s meet for tea.

Leave a Reply

